Members of the Joint Committee for the Revision of the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing Named

Jun 13, 2024

Washington, June 12, 2024 — The sponsoring organizations of the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (the Standards) – the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the American Psychological Association (APA), and the National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME) – together with the members of the Standards Management Committee (MC) and the Co-Chairs of the Joint Committee for the Revision of the Standards (JC), are pleased to announce the appointment of the members of the Joint Committee. The JC is charged with leading the process of revising the 2014 edition of the Standards.

Ye Tong, PhD, C0-Chair, NBME

Andres De Los Reyes, PhD, Co-Chair, University of Maryland

Chad Buckendahl, PhD, ACS Ventures

Ellen Forte, PhD, edCount

Laura Hamilton, PhD, American Institutes for Research

Qiwei He, PhD, Georgetown University

Nathan Kuncel, PhD, University of Minnesota

Cara Laitusis, PhD, Center for Assessment

Maria Marquine, PhD, Duke University

Rochelle Michel, PhD, Smarter Balanced

Michael Russell, PhD, Boston College

Pohai Schultz, PhD, University of Hawai’i

Steve Sireci, PhD, University of Massachusetts

Steve Stark, PhD, University of South Florida

Mark Wilson, PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Frank Worrell, PhD, University of California, Berkeley

This is an important moment in the launch of the next revision of the Standards. With the breadth of expertise reflected in these appointments and the composition of the JC, the sponsoring organizations and the Management Committee have anticipated the next generation of important issues for the Standards to address. The MC has also honored its commitment to inclusivity and transparency. Members of the three sponsoring organizations were invited to nominate JC members in accordance with stated criteria. Nearly 200 nominations were received, and the selected members represent unprecedented levels of diversity for the JC in terms of variety of test uses and sociodemographic identities.

Going forward, the Management Committee, including Drs. Kristen Huff (NCME), Fred Oswald (APA), and Michael Rodriguez (AERA), will continue to support the JC in the revision process and usher the revision through publication; and with the JC chairs, Drs. Ye Tong and Andrew De Los Reyes, will construct a multistage, highly inclusive process to secure a revision that maximizes input from across the sponsoring organizations, as well as key stakeholders and users – thus securing the Standards’ timeliness, relevance, and meaningfulness.